IMDb > Mother! (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Mother!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Mother! More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 36:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 358 reviews in total 

187 out of 321 people found the following review useful:

Utter bullshit masquerading as art, allegory or whatever excuse some deluded critics are calling it, 'Mother!' is a loathsome exercise in self-indulgence

2/10
Author: moviexclusive from Singapore
15 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'll be honest – I f**king hated 'Mother!', and by that I mean I absolutely loathed it. If you thought 'Black Swan' was pretentious, well you haven't yet seen writer-director Darren Aronofsky's latest self-aggrandizing piece of 'artistic filmmaking'.

The titular character is never named, and as played by Jennifer Lawrence, is the adoring wife of an also unnamed middle-aged poet – referred to as 'Him' (Javier Bardem) – stuck in writer's block. They live in a gorgeous octagonal Victorian mansion, which she is painstakingly renovating. We find out later that the house was burned down in a fire which consumed her husband's first wife, and that he had pulled from the ashes a burnished crystal which he now displays proudly in his study.

Then out of the blue, a stranger (Ed Harris) turns up at their doorstep. He says he's an orthopaedic surgeon who's looking for a place to stay, and that he had mistaken their house for a bed-and- breakfast. To her horror, 'Him' invites the 'man' to stay; and by the next day, his wife (Michelle Pfeiffer) arrives, followed by their two quarrelling sons (Domhnall and Brian Gleeson). Before the day is over, one son will bludgeon and accidentally kill the other, resulting in a pool of blood on the wooden floorboards that she will scrub clean save for a patch shaped in a vagina.

It doesn't take a genius to see the parallel with the Cain and Abel story in the Bible, or the 10 plagues that make a brief appearance one by one. Those familiar with Aronofosky will know that he has been fascinated with Christianity – from his first feature 'Pi' to 'Noah' to 'The Fountain', Aronofsky has consistently drawn allegories and imagery from Biblical stories. 'Mother!' is no different, but there is no coherence, no logic and no purpose in his references here.

The anything-goes, anyhow-told narrative has unwelcome strangers turning up at her house to mourn the death of the 'man's' son, an unleashing of pent-up passion between her and 'Him', her unexpected pregnancy afterwards that lets her morph into the Virgin Mary, her husband's sudden inspiration and overnight success, the arrival of cult followers that want to use her newborn son as blood sacrifice, and last but not least plenty of sectarian wars and conflict that culminate in a full cycle of destruction and reincarnation. Only those enamoured with 'bullshit' will think that revealing any of these unexpected twists and turns amounts to 'spoilers'; but really, it's a lot of shock-and-awe wrapped around a bastardisation of notable Biblical tales for absolutely nothing.

Indeed, even more absurd than the movie itself is how some have tried so strenuously to justify its nonsense. One reading has it as an allegory for the abuse of Mother Earth, a warning for climate change; another explains how it describes the process by which art is created and how the artist eventually becomes a slave to that art; another talks about how some men have treated their women in marriage, reducing them to supporting roles and robbing them of agency and respect. Neither of these interpretations disguises the fact that the movie is a haphazard mess of ideas that never amounts to anything substantial or compelling.

Why then should we put up with its misogyny? Why then should we put up with the overwrought delirium that just gets more and more sickening? Or more fundamentally, why should we even care about what's happening on screen? Not even Lawrence, or Bardem, or Harris, or Pfeiffer can add depth to their characters, which are so thinly written that we wonder why the actors even bothered. And therein lies the stark truth about the madness we are supposed to discern as an expression of profound ideas – there is simply nothing behind it, no meaning, no wit and certainly no redemption.

'Mother!' is the sad product of an artist's self-indulgence taken to its own grotesque extremes. It is no art, it is no genius, and it is definitely no masterpiece, despite critics caught up in the same pretension will try to convince you. If you're curious about why we hated it so much, then go see it by all means; otherwise, stay away from this motherf**king disaster.

Was the above review useful to you?

148 out of 252 people found the following review useful:

Comedy Of Horrors, perhaps

2/10
Author: Jim O'Malley (Kopelson-Group) from United States
16 September 2017

Maybe the intention was to make a terrifying comedy about, about, about...well, I'm not sure. A Mother! like that with an exclamation mark? An artist with an ego bigger than their house? Who knows. I certainly tried to cling on to something but I couldn't. It seems like a terrible confession to make but the truth is I couldn't care less about that mother because I didn't believe in her plight and couldn't understand her behavior. Jennifer Lawrence is a terrific actress we all know that but here, she screams and screams while I glanced at my watch with mounting impatience. Borrowing from other, better films, doesn't help, on the contrary, it irritates. Rosemary's Baby came to mind as well as The Tenant, Apartment Zero, Common Wealth. All films that terrified me without explicit gore and superb screenplays. Mother! seems like an interesting idea totally derailed by an out of control ego.

Was the above review useful to you?

85 out of 129 people found the following review useful:

It made me miss Rosemary Woodhouse

4/10
Author: fanaticusanonymous from UK/USA
15 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Darren Aronfsky is a director I follow, even since Pi. He's daring and unpredictable. I loved Requiem For A Dream and Black Swan, the rest of his opus has left me puzzled or downright annoyed. Mother! belongs to the later. All the element's were there - Rosemary's Baby written by Edward Albee - that's what I thought right up to Michelle Pfeiffer's entrance, then something happened - The movie falls through a totally unbelievable, hysterical downward spiral. What? Yes, exactly. Jennifer Lawrence suffers, puffs and moans from the very first frame, well second frame. She's afraid from the word go. She could run away but for some reason she never ventures out of the house. Questions like that become a massive obstacle for us to care and feel connected - Think of Mia Farrow in Rosemary's Baby or Colin Firth in Apartment Zero - co-habitating with a devil, surrounded by sinister neighbors or unwanted visitors. Those films also had sensational scripts and the narrative even when symbolic was always solidly based on the story at hand - Here it feels like gimmicks - One idea and then round and round the mulberry bush. I don't know how many times she shouts at her husband "Please make them leave" - Jennifer Lawrence goes through it valiantly and vociferously. Javier Bardem as the egomaniacal husband is absurdly unconvincing - and I'm a devoted a fan - Michelle Pfeiffer is the one who brings something new to the proceedings and a truly startling performance. Other than that, I'm sorry to say no to Mother!

Was the above review useful to you?

135 out of 232 people found the following review useful:

Thick on analogies and symbolism, to the point of overkill

6/10
Author: Bill Z. from United States
11 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw this at TIFF and the point this movie was trying to make became clear fairly early on. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but as the story developed, the analogies and symbolism went into overkill, to the point where their excessive nature diminished what was an interesting story.

The movie is helmed by Jennifer Lawrence and Javier Bardem, two actors I'm particularly fond of. The short summary of this movie is that they are a couple who live in a beautiful, remote home. One night they take in an unwanted house guest (Harris), more at Bardem's choosing than Lawrence's. This leads to countless other house guests and invasions from the outside world, often to the detriment of Bardem & Lawrence's beautiful home, and Lawrence's well-being.

As the movie goes on, these violations against the home and Lawrence get increasingly bizarre and excessive. They get laid on so thick that, even if you have figured out the analogy by the midway point of the movie and enjoy the way the movie is getting it's point across, the sheer madness that transpires in the second half of the film is likely to sour you on the overkill applied to the message.

It becomes fairly apparent that the house and Lawrence's character from which the movie is titled represent our planet. Bardem's character represents a creator/God (in credits, his character is simply known as 'Him'). Harris and Pfeiffer, the original, invasive guests, are the original Man & Woman (Adam & Eve), and from there, a lot of the plot initially descends from biblical references and then into His desire to provide for his followers and to be adored by them, ignorant of how detrimental they are to the house and Mother.

At the very end, the house becomes overpopulated with people who are both zealots and warmongers who descend into utter 'WTF' madness while they destroy the home, murder the couple's child, and force Mother to burn down the home she so painstakingly created, killing everyone inside it. After the fire, He carries her out, and recreates the home with a new Mother.

As I said, it's a story thick on symbolism and message. I personally liked what they were going for, but think it could have been a much better movie if they had done it far subtly than with the extreme overkill they employed in the second half of this film. Looking at the reviews, I see a lot of people torn by this movie, and I think for these reasons. Some people didn't clue into the message very well and just thought it was a movie that made no sense. Others may not have liked the pro-environment analogies, while some may have loved how excessive the movie hammered it's point home. Another group likely felt how I did - that the plot and point was unique and interesting, but the sheer madness the film careened into during the second half was extremely excessive.

Overall, I give it a 6/10, with disappointment that a promising concept wasn't executed more sensibly.

Was the above review useful to you?

79 out of 128 people found the following review useful:

Mother Of Intentions

4/10
Author: duffjerroldorg from Zurich, Switzerland
17 September 2017

Try to imagine Darren Aronfski with all his talent, preparing Mother in silence working with great actors, re-polishing the script and without the weight of a huge budget. I'm sure Roman Polanski had pressure from the studio to make concessions here and there but look at Rosemary's Baby and tell me. What concessions? I heard Martin Donovan, the director of Apartment Zero, a few months ago, explaining why he hasn't made an American film in 20 years. It was an explanation I'll never forget. He didn't blame anyone or anything, there was no blame of any kind but a deep and I should say, humble reflection and the fruit of his reflection was expressed, beautifully, in his excitement as he prepares his next film. I remembered his words as I watched Mother! Try to imagine Darren Aronfski with all his talent, giving time for the baby to be totally form and ready to be born. Working with great, new, unknown actors, without pyrotechnics but just the truth within the symbols (if any) - I love Jennifer Lawrence and I would have loved to see her play this role at the time of Winter's Bone - regardless of her youth. I believe that small private dreams/nightmares should be told with a feeling of privacy. Think Roman Polanski himself played the meek tittle character in The Tenant and the journey in Mia Farrow's eyes throughout Rosemary's Baby, Colin Firth's invisibility in Apartment Zero. In Mother there is also a Luis Bunuel touch from The Exterminating Angel but in Bunuel we live the surreal mystery with all our five senses. In Mother, we keep questioning, at a distance. No matter how close you come with the camera. Jennifer Lawrence is lovely but she starts with fear in her eyes and she stays there throughout. Javier Bardem is a sloppy variation of John Cassavetes in Rosemary's Baby. Ed Harris, as usual, superb as the Sidney Blackmer of the situation and Michelle Pfeiffer, who provides the biggest and most welcome surprise in a character clearly based on Ruth Gordon's Minnie in the same Polanski masterpiece. For all of the above I felt, sitting through Mother! A long and irritating experience. Now, I'd like to set a complaint about this, who shall I call?

Was the above review useful to you?

68 out of 107 people found the following review useful:

My god, mother is one hell of a film.

10/10
Author: wasabiteabag from Australia
19 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all, please don't watch this film if you have trouble understanding metaphors & symbolism.

It's pretty clear that there are quite a number of reviews/rants on this page with people expressing their hate towards the story and how it's been portrayed on screen. It's strange because it looks like they had absolutely no idea what they were watching... it's trivial and shallow to publish a review without any research. However, I do agree that it isn't an easy one to sit through, but some of the greatest films aren't. So again, please don't bother checking it out if your mind is closed, you won't appreciate this masterpiece.

To help deter unaccommodating opinions being regurgitated, I'll try to explain what made the film worth your time.

I believe there are two themes that can be interpreted from Mother!! Therefore, the use of an additional explanation mark is required.

***SPOILERS BELOW***

Religious Theory;

Pretty sure the inconvenient truth to this theory is that when the sh*t hits the fan, mother doesn't like people messing up her house (Earth). Apparently, Darren Aronofsky is not religious but he likes strong environmental messages. He also wrote the script in 5 days.. how long did it take God to create the world? Just saying.

Jennifer Lawrence is (Mother) Earth — The house is Earth.

Javier Bardem (Him) is God — Creator of life on Earth, loves attention, and forgives everyone.

Ed Harris (Man) is Adam — Invited by God to Earth (aka house)

Michelle Pfeiffer (Woman) is Eve — Created from Adam's rib (scene where Ed Harris was sick on the toilet)

The crystal is the forbidden fruit (apple)

The baby is the bread at the last supper "Body of Christ"

Relationship Theory;

An extreme version of anxiety in a relationship that is deteriorating. The tense build-up in social interactions and how someone may view a scenario where they feel left out and forgotten. The jealousy someone feels when their bond is shared. Not paying attention to the needs of one another in a relationship. Having a baby to keep the relationship alive. All these emotions are magnified/multiplied by 100 to the point it's literally terrifying, so crazy that it may make you laugh. Finally, once the love has completely diminished, the only thing left is to leave and start again new.

Either way, this film is unique and original in the way it's portrayed, packaged and presented.

Hope you can appreciate the beauty of this Gothic religious tale / art-house opera and award the actors & production team that helped make it possible.

Was the above review useful to you?

199 out of 373 people found the following review useful:

I want my 2 hours back!

1/10
Author: ma_maclean from Ottawa, Canada
14 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In a nutshell..... The story of a writer-blocked poet (Bardem) and his beautiful young wife (Lawrence) who has adoring fans (including Ed Harris and his wife Michelle Pfeiffer) that flock to his home just to be in his presence. Forgive the run on sentence........Harris is dying of cancer, his two sons arrive to fight over his money, get into a fistfight and one gets killed, more fans arrive, Lawrence goes into labour, fans start to riot, tearing the house apart, she has the baby, he wants to show his fans, she says no, he sits and stares at her for days, she falls asleep, he takes the baby, shows his fans, they grab the baby, kill it and eat it, Mom goes nuts, runs to the basement with a wrench, bashed a hole in the oil tank and sets it on fire and blows up the whole place, Bardem carries her charred body, sets her down and proceeds to reach in her chest and take out her heart, with her permission. He squeezes her heart til it turns to glass, sets it in a stand, the next scene there's a new wife and the whole thing starts over again. There! Just saved you $10........you're welcome!

Was the above review useful to you?

188 out of 352 people found the following review useful:

Self Indulgent disappointment ..

2/10
Author: RMS1949 from United States
9 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's just a pretentious main stream approach to putting a female thru torture and horror for no reason and with no happy ending, like so many B movies accomplish on a regular basis these days.. Jennifer's character really has no chance, no choices and only has a personality of just another on screen screaming damsel in distress.

Regardless of what anyone says, it's just a Rosemary's Baby clone, just with a different finale that suppose to make the audience believe otherwise. All the secrecy leading up to it's debut was just to hide the fact it was always just that.

I'm sure it'll get high marks from those who enjoy films with supposedly no boundaries etc,, but just because it can, doesn't make it good.. It just becomes "Oh look at what we can do", with little meaning other that to give a quick silly shock effect..

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 87 people found the following review useful:

Moab (Mother of all Box-Office Bombs)

9/10
Author: Anthony Iessi
16 September 2017

These days, we live in a world where most things are terrible and don't make any sense. Yet, a film like Mother! can still come along and disgust audiences. A film so off-putting, Rex Reed declared it "The worst film of the century". Make no mistake, Mother! is a profoundly polarizing film. But that is only because it went mainstream. It stars mainstream actors. It's distributed by Paramount. In recent years, the art-house and the multiplex have never crossed paths. But as the era of the blockbuster fades away, it was only a matter of time for Hollywood to return back to it's roots. To bring us back to the late 1960's, where most films meant something. Films that grab you. Films that push serious boundaries. I rarely leave a theater shaken. But Mother! did just that. It is a beautiful, terrifying assault on your senses.

Jennifer Lawrence and Javier Bardem play a lovely couple. Bardem is a struggling poet, while Lawrence tends to her house obsessively. Everything seems fine on the surface. What's that, you ask? The house has a heart! I admit the deed! Tear up the planks! Here, here! It's the beating of his hideous heart! ... and scene. Thank you for indulging me. No seriously, the house has a heart.. and internal organs. It's a living entity. I heard of the phrase "Home is where the heart is" but this is ridiculous. Is it? Lawrence plays someone that wants to be a mother to something. Her house? What happens when adoring fans come rushing in to see Bardem? Unwelcome visitors all! They wreck the house and impede on Lawrence's hard work. This must not go on. To fill the void, Bardem and Lawrence conceive a child. As the days go on, the guest list becomes bigger and bigger. By the film's midpoint, the house becomes a small city of thieves and squatters. After that, I must not share anymore. Because if you're already confused by what I'm telling you.. you don't know what confused is, my friend.

How does one interpret Mother! It's the quintessential art-house/midnight movie. Therefore, anything is plausible. Aronofsky intended it that way. He juggles many concepts and critiques about life itself. Motherhood, paranoia, fame, claustrophobia, selfishness, lust, rage, war, peace, religion, gender, history.. Mother! is whatever you want it to be and more. If you know that going in, this will be a breeze. If you don't, you will loathe every second of this film and I won't blame you. It is a lot to swallow. The climax of the picture is well orchestrated insanity. Arguably, the most intense sequence of events captured on screen since Children of Men. By comparison, Requiem for a Dream is almost entirely palpable. You sit back in your seat and think "Enough already. This is too much. Wow. It's not stopping. Please stop.". But that is precisely the point. Aronofsky does not let up until you are mentally drained from watching. But at least to ease some of the pain, you see a lot of Jennifer Lawrence's face, up-close. Most of the film is on her face. In real life, she is in a relationship with Aronofsky. Coincidence? No, not a coincidence. This is the mark of a filmmaker madly in love with his star. On an emotional level, that shows.

Mother! is not a film to go into blind.. but that certainly helps the experience. Polarizing, disturbing films are not crowd pleasures by any stretch, but that's never been an area that bothers me. Films like these fascinate me. Their lack of decorum fascinates me. The reactions from the audience fascinate me. On Lars Von Trier's best day, he couldn't have conjured a film like Mother! .. and if he did, he would've have let it be seen in a shopping mall.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 74 people found the following review useful:

Deserves an 8, but gave it a 10....

10/10
Author: wolfplay from New York
18 September 2017

... to balance out all the users who don't seem to look beyond trailers when they go to see a movie. I mean, did these people even read anything about this motion picture before seeing it? It's by Aronofsky, the guy who made Requiem for a Dream and Black Swan... I mean, were people expecting Ouija? Mother! isn't perfect, but it's damn interesting, funny, disturbing and entertaining. It's audaciously resistant to current Hollywood conventions, and it's oozing with themes, metaphors, allusions, and symbols. The performances are great, the camera-work incredible, and the whole experience a carnival of filmmaking verve. It doesn't carry any kind of real dramatic weight, but it leaves one with lots to think about. If you're really a movie fan, ignore the naysayers and check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 36:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history